which Toyota models won 2016 IIHS Top Safety Pick Plus awards

4 Toyota models received 2016 IIHS Top Safety Pick Plus awards

The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) recently announced its 2016 safety award winners, and this year, four Toyota models received 2016 IIHS Top Safety Pick Plus awards. In fact, Toyota, Lexus, and Scion won nine of the highest accolade, which is the most of any automotive manufacturer. Let’s take a closer look at the Toyota models that won and the safety features that made it possible.
Toyota pre-collision system alert

Which Toyota models won Top Safety Pick Plus awards?

In order to be considered for the 2016 IIHS Top Safety Pick Plus award, vehicles must receive “Good” or better ratings for all five crashworthiness tests and offer an available front crash prevention system with automatic braking capabilities that is rated “Superior” or “Advanced.” The four Toyota models that met these requirements are the Prius v, Camry, Avalon, and RAV4.
Toyota pre-collision safety system

Toyota’s pre-collision safety system

Toyota added the innovative pre-collision system to the 2016 Avalon and RAV4 models, both of which rated “Superior” for front crash prevention. As a part of Toyota’s commitment to safety and peace of mind for its customers, the pre-collision safety system utilizes a forward-facing radar or camera to scan for potential collisions. When it detects a potential collision, it provides audible and visual warnings to alert the driver. The system also enacts braking assistance to help prevent or alleviate the frontal collision.

You may also like: Safety tips for traveling with children

Get behind the wheel of a 2016 IIHS Top Safety Pick Plus winner!

At Toyota Vacaville, we offer a well-stocked inventory with the latest Toyota models, including the 2016 IIHS Top Safety Pick Plus award winners. Click the corresponding button below to view our available inventory and schedule a test drive today!